Little guns

I might ride this, although it changes every day. Large Marge and Marge Lite with Holy Rollers for now. I wish I had some Schwalbe Fat Franks or Big Apples in 26 x 2.35. The creme colored Franks are nice.  If I roll on 559-65mm rims, all I need are two fat tires to be riding full fat again.  Holy Roller, Big Apples, Fat Franks– baby fat.

For now, road levers paired to Avid BB7 Mountain calipers work fine and offer powerful braking with featherlight one-finger operation.  Stopping power is exceptional although the feel is unfamiliar.  The cable pull is improperly matched and the levers feel squishy.  I’ll experiment with some V-brake compatible road levers soon.

From full fat to half-fat, then baby fat. I call it Little Guns. One of you knows a bike that has had the same name, but that bike has since passed on.

14 thoughts on “Little guns

  1. Wow! the steed looks a lot different than the last time I was trying to keep up with it. I like the bars…..all-in-all, it bears a striking resemblance to the High Sierra….just sayin. HAHA. Anyways, I am trying to figure out how to go as light as possible. I am thinking I might go with just one pannier…. do you think this is wise? I have no doubts about being able to fit everything I need mainly in one pannier, and my sleeping bag strapped to the handlebars. However, I am worried about the stress that may be put on the rack and the frame. I have a picture up of the Aspen with a single pannier on it if you need a visual (http://cycleinplace.wordpress.com/)

    • Sean, I figure if you’ve got a rack, then use it. Two panniers are not “worse” than one, and will balance the ride as you’ve suggested. Two half-full panniers are better than one that is filled to the brim. I would plan on using some gear straps to secure the panniers against the rack on rough terrain, but wouldn’t expect any other issues. Is that a new saddle? I’ve got a Carradice Lowsaddle Longflap that needs a home if you are interested. However, with the panniers you might not need the extra room. Another option is to use a Carradice-style bag supported by the rack that you already have, then strap a drybag to the length of either rail of the rack– one might have your tent and the other your sleeping system. I did this in Mexico on my High Sierra and it rode quite well.

      It is possible to have a poorly riding “bikepacking” setup, and a nice riding rack system. You’re thinking about the right things. You’ll find a good system. I’m curious to see what you come up with.

      • Yes Gypsy Nick, that is a newish saddle. It was a new B17 when I got it back in March. Since then I have put a mile or two on it. A Carradice low saddle long flap would no doubt be cherished by me forever. How much would you let that puppy go for ( you can email me the figure if you like)? However, I am not exactly super comfortable with using something that small for an excursion like this one. But it would be perfect for a weekender here and there. I am getting some straps from REI to secure those panniers to the rack. I also got a Salsa anything cage on the way to hold my Nalgene water bottle. After that arrives, and I get some new tires….. I think I’ll be ready. Sweet!

      • Sounds good. In comparison to some of my luggage concoctions, a rack and panniers can be a lot more convenient and possibly cheaper.

        Sean, I’ve been talking about the Jandd Framepac for some time. For $27, it’s a great way to add 3L of stowage to the bike. Another recent discovery is the Revelate Pocket (https://www.revelatedesigns.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=store.catalog&CategoryID=3&ProductID=11), which is an accessory bag intended to be used as a modular addition to the Revelate handlebar system. It would work well with any kind of cyclindrical load up front, such as a normal drybag, and attaches with a convenient clip system. I’ll write more on the details of this bag soon. It’s becoming my favorite bag, and sometimes I use it as a small messenger bag when I’m constantly locking my bike around town.

        The larger sized Pocket is $47, and the necessary clips are $2.50. The bag unclips quickly and becomes a convenient handbag when off the bike. Another great option on a smaller frame where a framebag doesn’t fit. If it matters to you, it’s handmade in Anchorage, AK by actual bearded humans

  2. Is that Carradice Campter on the back? I’ve come to depend on mine for commuting not because I always travel with it full but because it’s large dimensions can accommodate odd shaped loads I sometimes find I have to haul to and fro between home,work, cub scouts, etc. Looking forward to some light touring with it this summer as well.

    Bonne Route!!

    • It is the Camper model. I’ve been very happy with it. The advertised capacity is 24L, but with the longflap extension I’ve carried much more. A bag support is essential.

  3. Pingback: Having my cake with the Pugsley | gypsy by trade

Leave a Reply

