Island life

Wellesley Island, one of the largest of the Thousand Islands on the St. Lawrence River, is a place possessed by the spirit of decades, and even centuries past.  My parents own a small summer home upon an equally small, rocky peninsula– a part of Wellesley Island– that can only be accessed by boat.  The island features homes of famous families from an era when millionaire meant something; many were a refuge from boisterous east coast cities, specifically NYC. Today, some of these classic estates are intact while others have been overcome by fire or neglect.  A tour by boat uncovers the most common sites such as Boldt Castle, but by bicycle, a variety of other island treasures come to light.  A compendium of photos from my week:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

This post was drafted and published from my Droid X (my mini-computer), but was subsequently edited from my real computer for formatting purposes.  I will be blogging exclusively from the Droid when I leave NY in a few days, so I will be practicing until then.  Pardon the “construction”.

Leave a Reply

