Mountain biking with my mom

image

My mom, sister and I loaded bikes onto the Whaler runabout to visit a nearby island.  Grindstone Island is about the size of Wellesley, also one of the larger islands on the river, but is accessed exclusively by boat.  A few dirt roads connect the interior of the island, while doubletrack bike/ATV trails connect the further reaches, including the storybook TILT (Thousand Island Land Trust) property. While most residences are accessed by boat, limited land access to most homes was by narrow dirt tracks, allowing a golf cart or ATV at most, although bicycles are common on the island.  Makes me think about visiting Mackinac Island when I get to Michigan.

Best of all, kicking up some dirt was my mom’s idea.

image

image

image

image

image

One thought on “Mountain biking with my mom

  1. Pingback: Up for anything | gypsy by trade

Leave a Reply

