A bevy, or a birdsnest of plans

20110930-104537.jpg

The counter is blanketed with maps and guides of places that had only existed in fantasy before now. I’m planning my immediate future, which is necessarily tied to the chance of snow as soon as next Friday, and beyond. Ideas overwhelm days remaining of this Indian summer, including some routes that are new to me. It may require an entire summer to ride all of this; there is no shortage of dreaming going on.

My (partial) list of chores over the next year: the Colorado Trail, Kokopelli Trail, White Rim Trail, Arizona Trail, and the remaining portions of the Great Divide Route. Surely, the purchase of DeLorme state gazeteers for the southwest and mountain states would be money well spent, and would allow summers full of dirt and paved explorations off of the aforementioned routes and trails. Maps show a lot of green areas in this part of the country. Green is good; white checkerboard is generally not so good.

Likely, I will ride mostly paved roads through Rocky Moumtain NP to/ward Steamboat Springs to resume Great Divide riding as I have the opportunity to meet up with a few other riders there in a few days. The next major crossroads offers either continued riding on the Divide into NM; or some exciting riding into Moab via the Kokopelli Trail, and beyond through Canyonlands NP, the White Rim Trail, Bryce, Zion, Grand Canyon, etc. The Arizona Trail lay in that region as well; Lael’s talking about walking. She’s also in Seattle now (air travel is amazing!), so I resume my duties as captain of this ship.

I’m open to ideas if I’ve missed anything. Nearly, darts are being thrown at the map– give me something to shoot at.

20110930-104722.jpg

20110930-104730.jpg

11 thoughts on “A bevy, or a birdsnest of plans

    • South is certainly the place to be, but as the weather looks good thru Friday I’m going to continue enjoying my first visit to Colorado. I happen to know a few people as hard-headed as I that hope to ride a section of the Divide– beginning in Steamboat on the 6th– so I may join them for a few days. If you haven’t already seen this, check: http://www.whileoutriding.com and link to his previous, snowy experiences on the Divide, in Montana, in October (2009). This is some great stuff.

      I just rode from Boulder to Estes Park, and will be riding through Rocky Mtn. NP tomorrow. Colorado colors are in full bloom.

  1. Yeah, Colorado is an absolutely beautiful place year round and i had the pleasure of living there for over a year. At the time i wasn’t much of a cyclist, but i did get to experience some great hiking. i lived in the conifer area, and i built log cabins all over colorado. thats one place i wouldn’t mind living again.
    Hey, i was looking at some pictures of your bike on here and there was two things i wanted to ask you: the first is, did you work at Velo Orange? i thought i saw a picture of your bike up there. The second question was about 2nd cycles. did you volunteer there? i do currently

    • I lived in Tacoma for several years, and volunteered at 2nd Cycle last summer. I worked at VO, briefly, this spring. Turns out riding bikes is better than handling and shipping bike equipment.

    • Actually, it is almost proven smaller by cycling it. I met a guy named George (the Cyclist) in Annapolis, MD as we both entered town on bikes. I just missed him, by a few miles, as we passed through Yellowstone, as he was crossing the Idaho/Montana border.

      Same with Cass, whom I first met as I was working near Denali NP in Alaska, as he began his dirt tour of the hemisphere. While he has made his way to Ecuador, he is flying through Denver soon for a bit of biking. And thus, I might see him in a few days. Small world.

  2. Pingback: Having my cake with the Pugsley | gypsy by trade

  3. Hey there I am so glad I found your web site, I really found you by error,
    while I was browsing on Aol for something else,
    Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a remarkable post and a all round
    enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
    to look over it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb b.

    • Glad you found the site. Sharing with others via the blog inspires more travel, and ever greater adventures. The above routes and plans were all taking up space in my mind last fall when I cycled through Colorado from Maryland via Banff, AB. This year I find myself headed back toward Colorado, this time from Alaska, to follow less travelled routes that I’ve been thinking about all winter. As well, I’m riding a fat-tired Surly Pugsley which got me through a snowy winter commuting in Anchorage, and is proving itself as a fun all-season ride.

      I’ll see you around…

Leave a Reply

