Westchester Lagoon Ice Criterium

20120319-000246.jpg

Winter biking gearheads and cycling nuts gathered around burn barrels Saturday night at Westchester Lagoon for the annual Ice Criterium around the 400m loop. Two person teams race 10 laps around the glazed oval, switching riders every lap. Teams ride a single bike, passing the “baton” by swapping a pair of boxer shorts worn over top of their clothing. Schwalbe Ice Spiker Pros and Nokian 294 Extremes were well represented.

20120319-000331.jpg

20120319-000557.jpg

20120319-000622.jpg

20120319-000933.jpg

20120319-001036.jpg

20120319-001054.jpg

20120319-001212.jpg

8 thoughts on “Westchester Lagoon Ice Criterium

  1. Haha! That looks like a lot of fun! I am really enjoying your posts from Alaska, Nick. moreover, I am enjoying the progression of not only your cycling style, but your writing style as well. You are really falling into a nice technique.

    • Hey, thanks Sean! I was wondering what you were up to the other day. I’ve heard good things about the new 2nd Cycle location. My friend Alex has been building his Rohloff/Big Dummy recently and has, no doubt, spent hours scratching his head over lacing patterns and spoke tension. Any new plans?

      • I have just been doing the school thing Nick. Right now I am on my spring break, and itching to hop on my Brooks topped Novara Aspen for a week. I am ordering some swift panniers soon with my tax return, and they will be ready and able for my summer excursions. Hows life going in Alaska?

  2. The snow has let up and we’ve rapidly caught up on sunlight, quickly surpassing the lower states. With over twelve hours of sun and lots of white on the ground, it’s really beautiful out, and everyone is a lot less morose. It’s not the normal looking spring, but it’s definitely no longer the depth of winter. Mostly studded tires and fenders these days as things melt during the day and refreeze at night. It’s sloppy, but fun.

    I’m working at a busy bike shop as a mechanic, and I might be tied to it for the summer. Big plans thereafter.

  3. Oooooo, big plans you say? Do tell. I was thinking of hitting the coast next summer and train’n it back. I would this summer, but unfortunately I have to many obligations to tend to. However, I will be hitting the road for a couple of weeks this summer….destination? Either east or south. No particular place in mind yet. But with the new swift panniers I just ordered today, there are no limits to where I can go(theoretically).

  4. Chehalis to South Bend! Done in two days. Not the best trail I have been on, but it is pretty well maintained(minus the washed out bridges and fallen trees). Just got back today. I woke up with snow on my bivy and a thick fog in the air. All in all, it was a great experience.

  5. Pingback: Back in Alaska | gypsy by trade

Leave a Reply

