Evening awe at Elk Pass

3599WP

Sometimes this is my life.  Elk Pass is the first crossing of the Continental Divide on the Great Divide Route, about 70 miles south of Banff.  I took my time to chat with lots of cyclists on this day, and dined with a dozen men and women on an ACA-led tour of the route from Banff to Whitefish.  Coincidentally, one of the trip leaders was from my hometown of Cortland, NY.  No one is from Cortland.

After dinner, the evening light beckoned me to strike out on my own and ride over the pass.  Five miles down the other side is a B.C. Forest Service cabin for public use, which I’d hoped to return to someday after visiting last fall.  The light was right and the air was nice– overwhelmingly, the skies were silky smoky grey.  I engaged the ride with vigor and blazed down the other side as night arrived.  This is a night on the Divide.

3565WP

3575WP

3577WP

3585WP

3579WP

3591WP

3588WP

3602WP

3608WP 2

3615WP

Leave a Reply

