Rollins Pass

5592WP

Diverting from the Divide toward the Denver area, I seek a new route over the mountains.  Last year, I crossed the Front Range through Rocky Mountain National Park on Trail Ridge Road.  Another option crosses further south at Loveland Pass above the Eisenhower Tunnel and I-70, while a third option crosses Georgia Pass and Kenosha Pass on the Colorado Trail from the Breckenridge area into Waterton Canyon, about 20 miles south of downtown Denver on the east side of the mountains.  Trail Ridge Road and Loveland Pass are both paved, while the Colorado Trail is mostly singletrack in this section, with some steep rocky pushes.  A final route crossing Rollins (Corona) Pass offers the most direct route and a pleasant ride on dirt roads over 11,666 ft.  A portion of the route follows an old railroad grade called the Moffat Route which is now partly maintained as a Forest Service road, but to the benefit of the hiker or cyclist the entire route isn’t passable by motorized vehicles due to the dilapidated and barricaded Needle’s Eye Tunnel, which limits traffic.  Several small rockfalls near the top of the east side further inhibit motor vehicle traffic.  Continuing in the spirit of the Great Divide Route, Rollins Pass is the perfect detour into the Denver/Boulder area.

From County Road 3 on the Great Divide Route south of Kremmling and the Williams Fork Reservoir, turn toward the east on Keyser Creek Rd/FR 139 (County Rd 32).  The Divide maps identify that this spur is the way to Winter Park (and Fraser), and from this intersection you are about 19 miles from the town of Fraser in the adjacent valley.  Climb away from the Divide on the main road for 8.6 miles until the intersection with the Beaver Creek Road at the top of the unsigned pass.  Several signs are missing along the way, however, selecting the more-traveled path will get you to the top.  Intersecting the signed Beaver Creek Road (County Rd 50), turn right toward Fraser and begin a fast ten mile descent to town.  At the intersection of paved Hwy 40, the main route in the valley, turn right onto the bike trail alongside the road for several miles to the town of WInter Park. Two miles further as the road begins climbing more moderately toward the ski resort, a sign will direct you to turn left onto the Rollins Pass Road or the Corona Pass or Moffat Hill Road– a road of many names, with a storied history.  From this point, the surface turns to dirt and climbs 14 miles to the pass, almost entirely through USFS property.  Turning onto this road at night, I ascend a thousand feet to a campsite overlooking the lights of Winter Park.  Amidst an old clearcut, I light a fire in an existing fire ring for some hot tea and ambiance.  Cool, clear Colorado skies send me to sleep.

Soon after entering the Arapahoe National Forest on County Rte. 3, turn left away from the Divide Route onto this road:

5499WP

5505WP

5510WP

5513WP

5517WP

Intersecting County Rte. 50/Beaver Creek Road, turn right down to Fraser:

5518WP

5527WP

5524WP 2

5530WP

5535WP

5542WP

The west side of the pass is a little rough, but not atypical of USFS roads.  Sandwiched by wilderness to the north and south at the top of the pass, continue toward the east on the obvious railroad grade, barricaded and signed “Tunnel closed…”.  Several small rockfalls in the first mile are rideable, if a little rough.  Two wooden trestles are in good shape, and within a mile from the top of the pass the Needle’s Eye Tunnel is encountered as Yankee Doodle Lake is visible below on the left.  The tunnel is in disrepair and is impassible, although two short trails lead over or around the tunnel.  Riding over the top of the tunnel, I hike down the back side which is loose and steep, but passable.  Back on the main Rollinsville Road, continue downhill for about 15 miles, passing the east end of the railroad tunnel that replaced the overland route.  Unfortunately, the several thousand foot elevation loss is not a fast descent, as the road is impregnated with angular cobbles.  Picking your way through and around potholes and rocks is fun, although tiring.  In Rollinsville, intersect the Peak-to-Peak Highway: turn right for Arvada and Denver, turn left toward Nederland to descend into Boulder.  Riding north on pavement toward Nederland, turn right onto the unpaved Magnolia Road for a low-traffic alternate to Boulder Canyon and Boulder.  Continuing to Nederland, you can ride north on the Peak-to-Peak Highway toward Estes Park and Fort Collins, or down the paved Boulder Canyon Road into town.

Climbing out of the trees on the Moffat Hill Road/Rollins Pass/ Corona Pass Road, Winter Park is visible across the valley.  A consistent mild grade makes for a quick ride to the top.

5551WP

5549WP

5553WP

5572WP

5580WP

5585WP

Expecting a rapid descent into Boulder, I quickly realized I’d be picking my way through rocks and riding the brakes.  Although this is an unimproved trail, this is the most inspiring “rail-trail” I’ve ridden.  With trestles and a tunnel, as well as some brief hikes, the ride over the pass makes for a fun day ride and a great way to connect the Divide with Denver.

5588WP

5594WP

5596WP

5608WP

5616WP

5618WP

5620WP

5627WP

5626WP

5633WP

5644WP

5657WP

5653WP

5662WP

A local rider directs me to the lower portion of the Jenny Creek Trail which eventually connects to the town of Nederland.  Enticed by a sign marking the upper portion of the trail, I cut left in search of a nice forested descent.  Instead, I find slow-speed rock-crawling.  A highly specialized red Jeep admires the Pugsley, remarking that it seems like a good idea to have big tires.  City people don’t often understand, while rock-crawling country folk never try to highlight the shortcomings of fat tires.  They get it.

5667WP 2

5675WP

5678WP

At once, my saddlebag is hanging near my rear derailleur.  Replacing worn leather straps, two nylon gear straps are hiding in the bottom of my framebag for such an occasion.  The thin steel bag loops on most leather saddles places extreme stress on the straps used to support and stabilize the saddlebag.  These leather straps have attached the bag to the bike all summer, but failure due to the design of the bag loops is inevitable.  Spare straps are a necessity on a longer trip.

5681WP

5689WP

5687WP

Back on the Rollinsville Road, conditions are still a little rough.  Even on suspended motorbikes, standing helps alleviate the discomfort of angular cobbles.

5692WP

Descending into shade and smooth roads.  Finally able to let loose of the brakes, I pedal on to Rollinsville.

5693WP

5695WP

5699WP

5702WP

I miss the turn for the Magnolia Road and find myself in Nederland, so a quick descent down Boulder Canyon shuttles me to the big city.  The first Friday night since students have returned to town ensures a vibrant scene downtown, and a lot of curiosity about the bike.  Downtown Boulder is a world away from Rollins Pass.

5705WP

4 thoughts on “Rollins Pass

  1. Absolutely stunning imagery, my friend! In the world of cycling the word epic gets thrown around as though epic endeavors were a common thing. By definition “epic” implies the uncommon, the heroic, the distancing of oneself and one’s efforts from the milieu of normal mortals…and yet, traveling alone and unencumbered by baggage and definition, you make epic journeys look like a thing anyone can do. For that you are a hero because getting normal mortals like myself excited about Going Where I Have Never Gone Before and maybe getting off my ass for a day or two look like a thing worth doing.

    My defense of Lance has always been that whatever else he was up to, he got thousands of fat Americans off the couch and out on two wheels.

    But Nicholas: what you, Jill, Cass and Joe and the untold others are doing is a far better thing. It does not garner as much publicity or sponsorship, nor should it. By being famous and fatuous your epic endeavors would suffer from the pollution of money and like some poet once said. “Money doesn’t talk, it swears.” It also lies.

    So leave all the money gathering to me; I won’t be happy about it but I’ll take it. Meanwhile, if you do eventually meander your way to InnerBike would you mind dropping by the Salsa Booth and letting them know that I need a Mukluk demo for my Epic Circumnavigation of Florida Via Sandy Beaches Adventure. it will be a tough journey, fraught with danger and hardship. Bikinis are hard on the eyesight and living exclusively on Beach Stand Food and margaritas will certainly take their toll. But I am ready to sacrifice for our sport and write about the experience. Instead of photos I will just post postcards mailed to politicians and movie stars. Figuring out which is which will be part of the challenge.

    tj

    • TJ, I’ll arrange a new Salsa Beargrease for you, at a scant 28.5 lbs for a complete beach-eating machine. If you decide to ride boardwalks and sidewalks instead, some smooth Black Floyd tires would save a few more grams and would roll nicely. I’ll do my best.

      As for Lance, I’ve got not much against him except that he has almost nothing to do with me and I wish people would stop talking about him. In fact, they are slowly starting to forget him, which is fine because I don;t know anything about the TDF and I don’t really care. Personally, I have other heroes. Purple, rather than yellow, is more my color.

      We’ve had some “epic” days on the Colorado Trail. When steep, rocky and unrideable, Lael and I agree that there is no better place to be pushing a bike than the CT. Great stuff.

      I’ll miss the famed Pearl Pass Tour from Crested Butte to Aspen by a few days, but am hoping to include the ride in my path towards Innerbike (sounds enlightening?). I’m planning to meet my ride along the interstate, which is less than enlightening.

      If balloon tires and beer are your kind of thing, check out the Pearl Pass Tour: http://www.mtnbikehalloffame.com/page.cfm?pageid=12

  2. This is just another one of the entries that reminds me why this is my favorite blog in existence. From the moment I started riding bikes on trails and heard of the Great Divide, the Colorado Trail, and the AZT, I started daydreaming about making these types of connections into one long tour. Later, I read your accounts of ‘connecting dots.’
    Years later, after getting caught up in finishing school, trying to start a career, I realize that these adventures are more important to me than almost anything else.
    Finally, in the first week of June I will put down two tires in Banff, just in time to be passed by Lael and all the other folks racing their way to Mexico.

    • Thanks for that Andrew, and for reminding me of Rollins Pass. That is such a cool ride, including the railroad history over the mountains. Say hi to Lael out there, and when you come across the Todd family of 8 out there from Anchorage, AK, say hi to them for me as well. I helped set them up with tune-ups, tires, bikes, and gear, before boxing eight bikes the other day. Enjoy the summer!

Leave a Reply

