Campeur Tire Clearance

12841WP 2

Good news.  Schwalbe 47/50mm touring tires (622-47, 28 x 1.75; or 622/50, 28 x 2.0) fit the new Campeur frame nicely, with enough room that a fender could be installed with careful mounting.  Smaller frame sizes may have slightly tighter clearances, so this information speaks specifically to 59 and 61cm frames with tires mounted to 25mm rims.

To my eye, the larger tires suit the frame much better than the narrow cross tires I initially mounted.  I’m headed off for a few days of riding with Jeremy.  Our route will likely connect rural paved highways and dirt roads through the Santa Fe National Forest, including sections of the Great Divide Route from Abiqui to Cuba.

Schwalbe Marathon Dureme tires are now discontinued, although Cass has a lightly used pair that he has lent for a period.  The tire sidewall reads 622-50mm and the claimed weight is 645g.  I love Schwalbe touring tires for their durable construction, resistance to punctures and pinching, and reflective sidewalls.  Last year, I put over 12,000 miles on a pair of 26 x 1.75″ Marathons.

12848WP

12849WP

12838WP

The Marathon Mondial is the top-of-the-line long haul touring tire from Schwalbe, a inexact replacement of the venerable XR model.  Personally, I have always preferred the construction and the price of the standard Marathon, but the Mondial seems as if it will give a similar ride, with slightly better off-pavement traction.  The Mondial features a robust sidewall and a versatile tread pattern for paved roads and dirt tracks.  The raised portion of the tread is several millimeters thick and should run for many thousands of miles.  The sidewall reads 622-47 and the claimed weight is 760g.  A slightly larger model, 622-50, is also available.

12850WP

12843WP

Without a laptop computer and a full-sized tent, my gear easily fits into a small drybag up front and the capacious Carradice Camper saddlebag, which is mostly empty without food.  I look forward to a large custom framebag which will reduce the need for the Carradice on short trips out of town.

12846WP

I’ll be back in a few days.  Until then, check out my post over on the Adventure Cycling Blog about touring and commuting on a fatbike.  I’ll be sharing stories and ideas over there on a regular, monthly basis.  Any thoughts for next month’s post?

It has been exactly a year since I bought the purple Pugsley in Seattle.  You might enjoy revisiting my first thoughts on the new Pugsley (from a year ago) after hopping ferries and riding around the Puget Sound.

13 thoughts on “Campeur Tire Clearance

  1. Have a nice ride!

    I have put about 8,500 miles on a pair of 700×35 Mondials and they still have decent tread left so they should be okay in the durability department. If and when they wear out, I may try to cram a pair of 700×40 under my fenders for a cushier ride.

    • Nice. Even when the yellow belt began to show from under the rubber on my Marathons, the tire wore several thousand miles more. The ride even improved as the tire wore. You might be able to fit the 47/50mm tires and a fender on the LHT. The actual measurement is more like 43-46mm, although I have not yet measured. The LHT should have a little more room than the Campeur.

  2. Congrats on the ACA blog post! And congrats on the tires working. I should give the Mondials a shot at some point. But the “issue” is: when? The current basic-old Marathons on the LHT are still holding after a year (on the rear) and a year and a half (on the front). Plus, I was gifted a nice very lightly worn set of Panaracer Pasela Tourguards, so those will go on next. Never rode the Pacelas, so it’ll be interesting to see how the do in comparison. (I feel I need to have an…informed opinion in the Great Tire Debate Between Marathons And Paselas, otherwise I can’t write the next edition of the Touring primer. ;-)

    Oh yeah, expect something via post next week.

    • Marathons of any kind are the best touring tires. Paselas ride nice, but the sidewalls can become weathered before the tire wears out and puncture protection isn’t anything to write home about. As well, no reflective sidewalls and the biggest size is 700x35mm or 26x42mm. Marathons will last twice as many miles.

      I can lend a hand with the tire section if you want. I suppose I could write a special sidebar for touring on a fatbike too. I love the touring primer.

      • That’s the consensus I’ve gathered: Paselas more if you care about ride performance, Marathon if you care more about puncture protection and long-term durability. Thankfully 700×35 is about as big as I can go on the LHT so no worries there.

        The one tire I’ve learned to avoid is the Specialized Armadillos. I picked up one on a tour a couple years ago because my rear tire had worn out and the Armadillo was the only “touring grade” tire the shop stocked. (Guess what kind of bikes they sold?) Now I never got a flat with the Armadillo, but about six months later I noticed that the outer layer of rubber was delaminating from the layer underneath. I thought about trying to warranty it, but it looked like too much of a bother.

        Yes, I would love some stuff about Fat Bike Touring!

      • My only experience with Spec tires is exactly the same. Replacing an undersized 26×1.25 Pasela, we bought a 1.5 Spec Nimbus in Florida. About 2500 miles later it began delaminating. Too bad, because it had lots of rubber left. Notably, it also rode like shit.

        Specialized tires are supposed to be unconditionally guaranteed. That’s what you do to support a poor product.

  3. Hi Nick,

    Do you ride a Shimano Dyno Hub? (Sorry, I searched around to find this on the site – but didn’t turn up the answer, from what I can tell from pictures it looks like a yes). Has it held up well? I’ve got an SON on my 700c commuter, it’s awesome, but it’s also twice as expensive as the Shimano and I’d like to electrify my 26″ MTB for travel. I’m looking for a disc-braked dynamo. I figure that if one has held up for you then I’ll never be able to kill it!

    Thanks – Thom

    • Hey Thom,

      In total, I have experience with three Shimano hubs. Through many miles and varied conditions, they have all worked very well for me and I recommend them all the time.

      Consider the 3N70(-71,72,80) for rim brake, or the 3D70(-71,72,80) for disc, as well as the Alfine S500 series for disc. My understanding is that they are all the same internally. The Shimano Centerlock disc mount is discreet when not in use, and is a good consideration for future-proofing the purchase if disc brakes may be on your horizon.

      nicholas

Leave a Reply

