Vitamin D Ride, Anchorage, AK

NicholasCarman1 1338 

Seeking an hour of sun on my day off work, Lael and I finally put down our coffee cups and start pedaling around noon.  She has been dealing with a creaky ankle, so the plan is to make a mellow circuit of the local multi-use trails.

However, the Fur Rondy dog mushing races have taken over the main trails.  These are preliminary exhibition races to the Iditarod, which starts later this week.

NicholasCarman1 1357

Instead, we cut through neighborhoods to a local singletrack trail called Blue Booty, named for a blue dog booty (like a sock), that had once been found on the trail.  This is the most prominent trail through APU (Alaska Pacific University), at the heart of a new network of trails taking shape.  Most of those trails seems to be natural, without grooming, signage, or mapping.  It only takes a little traffic to make top-notch winter trails.  More fatbikes equal more trails.

NicholasCarman1 1332

NicholasCarman1 1337

Soon, Lael peels off towards work.  I intend a few more pedal strokes before returning home.

NicholasCarman1 1331

I continue, dodging sections of trail closed for the races.  After two weeks without much riding, and altogether too much time indoors and in front of a computer, I can’t seem to get close enough to the sun.  If I keep going south, by the end of the day I’ll have consumed more sun than I’ve seen in months.  If lucky, I might even get a sunburn.

NicholasCarman1 1330

Turning off the Tour of Anchorage trail onto Blue Dot, a favorite amongst cyclist in town.  This is a popular connection for group rides.

NicholasCarman1 1327

NicholasCarman1 1341

NicholasCarman1 1329

A friend joins for a spin.  Nate rides a pink Fatback.  We first met several years ago when I listed a Nate tire on Craigslist.  Eventually, I borrowed some Schwalbe tires for my Pugsley, in trade for Maxxis Holy Rollers.  I returned the Schwalbes after riding them down to Montana, and eventually, he returned the Nate to me in New Mexico.  We are like tire pen-pals. 

Nate is working to create a few extra trails in the Campbell Tract from the Lore Road trailhead.  After a snowfall, he first packs the trail with snowshoes.  Next, walkers and riders begin to work it in.  Eventually, it is rideable (mostly).  In winter, traffic is paramount to the existence of trail.

NicholasCarman1 1342

We encounter a prototye Fatback Corvus frame and fork, with tubeless carbon Fatback rims.  I heft the bike; the internal scales says ‘superlight’.  Top finishers in the 350 mile Iditarod Trail Invitational (ITI) to McGrath were both riding Fatback bikes this past weekend.  Kevin Breitenbach and Tim Bernston both crushed Jay Petervary’s record from last year, due in part to excellent trail conditions with little snow.  They arrived in McGrath in a little over 2 days.   

NicholasCarman1 1344

An old pink bike works just fine for Nate.

NicholasCarman1 1343

With so many familiar faces on the trail, we hardly find time to ride.  Nick has recently made his 9zero7 fatbike tubeless, opting for the reliable split-tube method, mating 120tpi Dillingers to Rolling Darryls.  The split tube method is easy and reliable, and works with almost any combination of rim and tire.

NicholasCarman1 1345

Parting ways with Nate, I continue south.

NicholasCarman1 1356

First, onto Elmore Road, which dead-ends onto a powerline trail, before resuming again further south.

NicholasCarman1 1355

Down to a grocery store for lunch.

NicholasCarman1 1358

Including a stop at two local bike shops, the grocery store, and an electronics store for a lens filter, I connect the east side of town with Kincaid Park, in the west.  Immediately, I shoot for unfamiliar trails along the waterfront.

NicholasCarman1 1325

A crusty, sandy trail leads up the hill.  With a little grit, it is rideable.

NicholasCarman1 1354

NicholasCarman1 1323

It leads up and around, to the bluff.

NicholasCarman1 1322

NicholasCarman1 1324

NicholasCarman1 1321

NicholasCarman1 1351

This southwestern exposure gets plenty of springtime sun, and is reported to be the first dry trail in town. 

NicholasCarman1 1353

NicholasCarman1 1320

In winter, it seems to get little tire traffic.  Mostly boot tracks are present.

NicholasCarman1 1310

The trail is a little sketchy at times, including some crusty off-camber trail.  However, most if it is rideable and much more like mountain biking that most of the playful groomed trails we usually enjoy.  The distinction, I think, is the presence of natural obstacles, and a few unridable features.  On this day, Surly Nate tires are great.  I am loving the new tubeless set-up as well.  The bike is much more fun.

NicholasCarman1 1311

Connecting back to more established trail, a chill settles.  Sunlight slowly wanes.  Near the first of March, we gain nearly six minutes of light per day.  Days have just grown longer than 10 hours, a welcomed feature.  March is always a great month.

NicholasCarman1 1349

I make several loops of some area trails, as I know I won’t likely have the chance to return during the week.  Conditions are perfect.  The front tire washes a few times while descending Middle Earth.

NicholasCarman1 1347

 I wait several minutes before I am able to gently suggest this moose off the trail.  

NicholasCarman1 1312

Partway down Middle Earth, the skyline warrants waiting.  Sunset seems to last for hours.

NicholasCarman1 1313

One half of the sky is night.

NicholasCarman1 1314

The other half holds dearly onto day.

NicholasCarman1 1316

Finally, I arrive home eight hours after leaving.  Waiting on the front stoop is a box from Velocity USA, containing two high-polish Velocity Dually 29 rims.  We’ll talk about that later.

NicholasCarman1 1340

10 thoughts on “Vitamin D Ride, Anchorage, AK

    • I got a sunburn from my chin to my forehead. That’s the trouble with winter.

      However, temperatures reached nearly 50 deg here today. Surely, we’ll have some more cold and snow, but we are well on our way to spring.

  1. Aweome. I rode Hillside singletrack yesterday and it was a beaut! Hey what store in ANC did you get that reflective red tape? I looked last night at Home depot to no avail. I’m sure other places have it but I don’t wanna go on a wild goose chase. Love the blog btw. Keep it up! -Joe

    • Thanks Joe! Both Alaska Safety and Warning Lights should have this stuff. I got mine at Alaska Safety on Gambel, just south of Tudor. I’ve also heard that Lowe’s has a 3M section, with reflective ribbon.

      • Thanks man, appreciate it. I have a Fatback that’s the same color as your bike and the red would look killer. I also have an orange 9Zero7. I’ll probably order some orange reflective tape through Identi-tape.com. Happy trails!

Leave a Reply

