A couple of Hooligans

WP00001 80

This is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time.  I ordered a pair of 20×2.20″ Maxxis Holy Rollers for Lael’s Hooligan.  She insisted that she wear out the current tires, 1.5″ Kenda Kwest slicks, but once the tires arrived I couldn’t resist.  I admire her resolve to wear through tires, but these Lil’ Rollers are tons of fun.  They add to the diverse absurdity of the Hooligan.  The current build incorporates comfortable stylish parts from Velo Orange, some lightweight Revelate Designs bags for daily commute-packing, and these little Maxxis beefcakes.  Anymore, Lael loves Maxxis tires.  She likes upright handlebars, lightweight camping loads, and chunky rubber.

WP00001 71

WP00001 74

Some fun LED lights light up the night.  Thanks to Linda and Lanny for these fun holiday gifts.

WP00001 73

Velo Orange Tourist handlebars offer a classic look in a practical dimension.  For a round town bike, the rise and sweep on these bars is perfect.  Also, VO cork grips.

WP00001 67

WP00001 65

The tire rolls well, although it is marketed as a BMX/Dirt Jump/Urban Assualt tire.  For Lael, it’s a versatile commuting tire that can hit the trails in a pinch.

WP00001 70

Some comfortable Clarks and large platform pedals make for happy feet.  These new Velo Orange Sabot pedals are buttery smooth as they use a series of sealed cartridge bearings.  Rounded pins improve traction.

WP00001 72

Neo-retro– a Velo Orange Model 3 saddle and a Revelate Viscacha seatbag.

WP00001 79

WP00001 78

Of course, every practical bike must have a bell.  This is my favorite way to mount one.

WP00001 82

Some cheap Bell sunglasses and a Giro Reverb helmet round out the Lael’s specialized commuting kit.

WP00001 69

A couple of Hooligans.

WP00001 81

6 thoughts on “A couple of Hooligans

  1. That is such a good bike. I was sad they never sold them stateside when I worked for a Cannondale dealer. I imagine it similar but much better than a Raleigh 20 in almost any way. I will keep my eye out on the secondhand market…

  2. Thank you for your site. I have been researching an adventure type travelling bike that I can pack up and transport in a big case rather than a folding bike. Do you know how long the main frame is (at its longest point)? My idea is to remove wheels, fork and handlebars, pedals, seat post and pack it into a case.

    I also thought about the holy rollers. Another good looking tyre is the kenda small block 8, 20 x 2.1, folding and dual rubber compound.

    • I don’t know how long the bike is when packed, but with the front fork and wheel removed the package is small enough to pack on the plane without paying for a bike, and small enough to pack without a hard sided case or a box. The Cannonade Hooligan is a great ride, especially with a big tire like the Holy Roller or the others you mention.

Leave a comment